Fred Hamilton is the owner of the family business. Fred’s great, great grandfather came over from Ireland in the early 1800s. They settled on a farm just south of Singhampton and there they operated a general store. James Hamilton, Fred’s great grandfather, bought the Glen in 1874 and Hamilton Brothers began.
James had sons working in the business, and his son Joseph eventually took over the business. Years later, two of Joseph’s sons, Jack and Frank, worked together to run the business in the feed mill and on the farms throughout the mid-1900s. The current owner, Fred, is the 4th generation and has three sons active in the business: John, Jamie and Joseph. They have children in the wings and they would be the 6th generation.
Glen Huron is situated on the banks of the Mad River. It is a very picturesque village in the heart of the Blue Mountains one mile from Devils Glen Ski Club. The company is ten miles south of Collingwood and just a few miles west of Stayner and Creemore.
In 1874, there was a water powered saw mill, and 20 years later came the feed mill. The water powered feed mill still operates today and is an important part of the business. From 1874 to present, the company has branched out into farm & garden supplies, fuel distribution and building supplies.
We are on the map, and one of the smallest, busiest, prettiest, more scenic and historical villages in the country.
Our original home barn
Glen Huron Memorial Chapel
Joseph C. Hamilton, Jack Hamilton, Feed Saleman, Frank Hamilton